Literary References in the Novel

For discussion of John Ajvide Lindqvist's novel Låt den rätte komma in
Jw5x5

Literary References in the Novel

Post by Jw5x5 » Tue Jan 25, 2022 5:05 am

Hello all

This month I came back to Let the Right One In for the first time in a few years in the spirit of a winter storm that hit my town. I did the typical circuit, reading the novel and watching both of the movies, and what a different experience it was this time around. When I first came across LTROI, and when the story first latched itself to my heart, I was a freshman in highschool coming off my first break up. You can imagine the emotional currents of the novel hit me very hard while, due to my age, the literary references flew right over my head. Fortunately, this novel stands on its own without a prerequisite background in western literature, but having picked it back up after recently completing university and having vastly broadened my literary background, Ive come to appreciate the nods to the stories that inspired JAL dropped throughout the novel.

The one which I was most pleased to pick up on was the reference to Ovid's Metamorphoses made on page 205 when the restaurant gang goes to tell Gosta about Jocke's body being found. The following exchange occurs:
"Lacked scratched the cat - still in Gosta's arms - behind the ears.
'Nice cat. What's its name?'
'Its a she. Thisbe.'
'Nice name. Do you have a Pyramus as well?'
'No."

A very short exchange, but one in which Lacke references a story which had inspired JAL in writing the novel.