Detritus

A forum for discussing fan fiction related to Let The Right One In
zephonate

Detritus

Post by zephonate » Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:53 am

Greetings, all.

I'm an aspiring writer. Let the Right One In (both the movie and novel) have inspired my writing in many ways. Not long after what must've been my 25th viewing of the film, I decided to sit down and start writing a vampire story of my very own. Though this technically isn't LTROI fan fiction, the story itself is heavily influenced by our beloved tale, so I figured this section would be as good as any to show some of it to you fine people in order to collect some thoughts, opinions, or maybe even some (hopefully constructive) criticism.

I'm going to post in increments, depending on how many responses I get. I now present you all with the beginnings of Detritus.

For anyone who would like to listen to some accompanying music (the piece I actually wrote this prologue to) while they read:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qUIhmy-HvcA

Prologue: A Lonely Place to Die

"Sorry gots to do dis to ya, Roldy. But you know well as I do dis a dog eat dog world. You a casualty of da streets! And you always been the noble one. Hell, you been a bigger pain in Maurice's ass than I been. You shoulda seen dis comin' sooner or later.
"Listen I'd love to take ya to some doctors n' shit, but dat ain't gonna do nothin but get people askin' questions. Stickin' their noses where they don't belong. So, looks like dis where we go our separate ways, big brotha."
With those crass parting words, Russell Meeks turned and walked off, his burgundy coat fluttering behind him in the frigid breeze. He adjusted his beige fedora, clicked his teeth and grinned happily as he made his exit, already miles beyond the thoughts occupying his mind moments before. It took him but a minute to never be seen by present company again.